The District is a political subdivision of the State of Texas, created by Order of the Texas Board of Water Engineers, a predecessor agency to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (the “Commission”) on July 18, 1955, under the provisions of XVI, Section 59, of the Texas Constitution. The District operates in accordance with Chapters 49 and 51 of the Texas Water Code, as amended. The District is located in Harris County, approximately 23 miles southeast of downtown Houston. The District contains approximately 457 acres of land. All of the land within the District is located within the boundaries of either the City of El Lago, the City of Taylor Lake Village or the City of Seabrook. The District is within the boundaries of the Clear Creek Independent School District.

District Map

Boundary Map (PDF)

MUDs: A Texas Heritage: A short video on the history of Municipal Utility Districts (MUDs) and WCIDs and how they have been integral to the state’s development.